Cuban parliamentary delegation visited Lithuania

Cuban parliamentary delegation visited Lithuania

Vilnius, December 4, 2019. A delegation from the National Assembly of the People´s Power of Cuba (ANPP), headed by the parliamentarian Andrés Castro Alegría, president of the Committee on Education, Culture, Science, Technology and Environment, completed a working program in Lithuania, which included meetings with the Parliament and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Baltic country.

At the headquarters of the Lithuanian legislative body the delegation was received by Ms. Laimutė Matkevičienė, head of the Group for interparliamentary relations with Latin America and the Caribbean, who was accompanied by Mr. Dainius Kepenis, Mr. Robertas Šarknickas and Prof . Arûnas Gumuliauskas, members of the referred group.

Subsequently, a meeting was held with representatives of several parliamentary committees, Mr. Simonas Gentvilas, Deputy Chief of the Environment Committee; Deputy Aušrinė Norkienė, member of the Committee on Foreign Affairs and Mr. Robertas Šarknickas, member of the Committee on Education and Science. During the meeting were analyzed the possibilities of exchanges in various sectors.


During the visit, the delegation was also hosted by Prof. Kęstutis Glaveckas, Deputy Chief of the Budget Committee of the Parliament and member of the Liberal Movement.  During the exchanges both parties supported the promotion of parliamentary contacts and the expansion of ties between the two countries.  

Before the end of the visit, the delegation was received at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs by H.E. Mr. Neris Germanas, Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs. During the meeting were highlighted the usefulness of the existing bilateral dialogue and the potential for developing links in various areas. The positive development of the links between Cuba and the European Union was evaluated, among other topics of common interest. The Cuban delegation thanked Lithuania's rejection of the illegal economic, commercial and financial blockade imposed by the United States against Cuba.


As members of the Cuban delegation were also Ambassador Eduardo Lazo Pérez and Mr. Yuniel Flores Aguiar, official of the Commission for International Relations of ANPP.

Relaciones Bilaterales
RSS Minrex