National Assembly approves new Council of Ministers

National Assembly approves new Council of Ministers

Cuba´s National Assembly of People`s Power unanimously approved Saturday the proposal of new members of the island´s Council of Ministers.

The suggestion of the membership of the top executive organ was made by the president of the Council of State and Ministers, Miguel Diaz-Canel Bermudez.

The new Council is made up of 34 members, among them 8 women, and is age average is 60 years

In its current configuration, 17 ministers were ratified, and 9 new ministers were appointed, among them those of Economy and Planning, of Public Health and Culture.

Ramiro Valdez, Ricardo Cabrisas Ruiz and Ulises Rosales continue their role as vice-presidents of the Council of Ministers, while Roberto Morales and Ines Maria Chapman were newly elected as vice presidents.

The Council´s Secretary Jose Amado Ricardo was ratified.

New ministers:

    1. Iris Quiñones Rojas, Minister of Food Industry
    2. Betsy Díaz Velázquez, Minister of Domestic Trade
    3. Alejandro Gil Fernández, Minister of the Economy and Planning
    4. José Ángel Portal Miranda, Minister of Public Health
    5. Raúl García Barreiro, Minister of Energy and Mining
    6. Jorge Luis Perdomo Di-Lella, Minister of Communications
    7. Alpidio Alonso Grau, Minister of Culture
    8. Oscar Manuel Silveira Martínez, Minister of Justice
    9. Antonio Rodríguez Rodríguez, President of National Institute of Water Resources

Ministers ratified:

    1. Ena Elsa Velázquez Cobiella, Minister of Education
    2. Lina Olinda Pedraza Rodríguez, Minister of Fiinances and Prices
    3. Irma Margarita Martínez Castrillón, Minister – President Central Bank
    4. Margarita González Fernández, Minister of Labor and Social Security
    5. Elba Rosa Pérez Montoya, Minister of Science, Technology and the Environment
    6. Leopoldo Cintra Frías, Minister of the Revolutionary Armed Forces (FAR)
    7. Julio César Gandarilla, Minister of the Interior
    8. Bruno Rodríguez Parrilla, Minister of Foreign Affairs
    9. René Mesa Villafaña, Minister of Construction
  10. Adel Yzquierdo Rodríguez, Minister of Transportation
  11. Rodrigo Malmierca Díaz, Minister of Foreign Trade
  12. Manuel Marrero Cruz, Ministro of Tourism
  13. Gustavo Rodríguez Rollero, Minister of Agriculture
  14. Alfredo López Valdés, Minister of Industries
  15. José Ramón Saborido Loidi, Minister of Higher Education
  16. Alfonso Noya Martínez, President of Cuban Institute of Radio and Televion, ICRT
  17. Antonio Eduardo Becali Garrido, President of National Institute of Sports, INDER